Transalp Crew

Transalp Crew

Without these guys, nothing would work at the TOUR/BIKE Transalp: To ensure that all participants experience an unforgettable week, around 150 organisers and helpers are involved - directly on site or behind the scenes. For many of them, the Transalp is a project of the heart, some have been part of the crew since the beginning of the Transalp and are already well known to the participants. We like to portrait some of them, representing the entire crew.

Loris Tagliapietra

Italian course director

He knows every corner of the Italian Alps: Loris Tagliapietra has been the Italian course director of the Transalp for ten years, always in close cooperation with race director Marc Schneider. The 62-year-old was born in Arco, several times the finish town of the Transalp, and still lives there today. His job is to obtain all the necessary permits from the Italian authorities to hold the event and to ensure safety on the course.  In his "real" life, his job also includes management of sporting and cultural events as well as security for trade fairs and conferences. During and before the Transalp, he enjoys the contact with the authorities as well as with the participants. "I have already got the chance to meet many interesting people, which have remained as friendships. The Transalp week is full of unexpected events, but also full of fulfilments." As the Italian route director, Loris knows the route inside out. He rides the entire route several times in advance - often together with Marc Schneider - to check that everything is okay. 

Sebastian Zimatschek

Leader Rescue Team

Sebastian Zimatschek (54) has been leading the 18-member rescue team since 2003 and is responsible for the most important thing: the health of the participants. With his team, he is responsible for the emergency medical support of the riders. First aid on the course is provided by motorbike teams and an ambulance team consisting of an emergency doctor and an emergency paramedic. Thus, they take care of all medical problems, from minor scrapes to serious injuries after more serious crashes. What attracts the Munich emergency doctor and specialist in anaesthesia to the job is the combination of different factors: “It's a week of contrast to 'normal' life, at the same time the combination of working with a great, competent team and the experience of being part of one of the most fascinating cycling events." Sebastian also loves riding his motorbike - "here I can combine both." Would the Bavarian also ride the TOUR Transalp as a participant? "With the motorbike always, with the bike only with fractures ...".

Christian Schellmann

Marshall

His job is to accompany all participants to the finish without any accidents. Chris Schellmann has been part of the TOUR Transalp crew as a marshal since 2008. The motorbike marshals warn of construction sites or danger spots on the course, secure accident sites in case of emergency and support riders who need help. In "real" life, the 51-year-old from Bavaria works as a specialist for sewage technology. For him, the Transalp week is "the ideal combination of riding a motorbike on small remote back roads through the most beautiful areas of the Alps and a very responsible task." Would he join the TOUR Transalp as a participant one day? Chris is more of a mountain biker, but after the 2020 race was cancelled, he retraced the planned route on his motorbike together with his 16-year-old daughter.

Daniel Bechtel

Day bag team

You can't get around Daniel Bechtel at the Transalp. The Bavarian has been supporting the day bag team for eight years (now as manager) and is thus one of the first points of contact for every participant at the finish.  When the 51-year-old is not racing across the Alps loaded with thousands of bags, he is either taking care of his three children, his job at the district administration office or one of his numerous main and honorary posts - all of which have one thing in common: helping! Be it in civil protection, in medical training in mountain rescue or as a crisis intervention consultant. Also at the Transalp, he is taking care of more than just the day bags. Since his team is one of the first places to go to, the crew also acts as an information point: Where can I find what? Massage, pasta party, camp? He also runs the free laundry service. "Every year, the Transalp weeks offer new unique experiences and beautiful memories for life, while I do my best every day to provide the participants an unforgettable Transalps experience."

REGISTER
NOW
New
registration and cancellation conditions

Transalp Crew

Transalp Crew

Ohne sie geht bei der TOUR Transalp gar nichts: Damit alle Teilnehmer eine unvergessliche Woche erleben, sind rund 150 Organisatoren und Helfer im Einsatz – direkt vor Ort und hinter den Kulissen. Für viele von ihnen ist die Transalp eine Herzensangelegenheit, einige sind bereits seit den Anfängen dabei und bei den Teilnehmern schon gut bekannt. Wir stellen einige von ihnen vor, stellvertretend für die gesamte Crew.

Loris Tagliapietra

Italienischer Streckenchef

Er kennt in den italienischen Alpen jeden Winkel: Loris Tagliapietra ist seit zehn Jahren italienischer Streckenchef der Transalp, stets in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Rennleiter Marc Schneider. Der 62-Jährige ist in Arco, mehrfacher Zielort der Transalp, geboren und lebt dort bis heute. Seine Aufgabe ist es, bei den italienischen Behörden alle erforderlichen Genehmigungen für die Durchführung der Veranstaltung einzuholen und die Sicherheit auf der Strecke zu gewährleisten.  Auch in seinem „echten“ Leben gehören Management von Sport- und Kulturveranstaltungen sowie Sicherheit für Messen und Konferenzen zu seinem Job. Bei der Transalp mag er sowohl den Kontakt zu den Behörden als auch zu den Teilnehmern. „Ich konnte schon viele interessante Leute kennenlernen, die  als Freundschaften geblieben sind. Die Transalp-Woche ist voller unerwarteter Ereignisse, aber auch voller Erfüllungen.“ Als italienischer Streckenchef kennt er die Route in und auswendig. Mehrmals – oft zusammen mit Marc Schneider – fährt er vorab die komplette Strecke ab, um zu prüfen, ob alles in Ordnung ist. 

Sebastian Zimatschek

Leiter Rescueteam

Seit es die TOUR Transalp gibt, ist auch er dabei: Sebastian Zimatschek (54) leitet das 18-köpfige Rescueteam seit 2003 und ist damit für das Wichtigste verantwortlich: die Gesundheit der Teilnehmer. Mit seinem Team ist er für die notfallmedizinische Begleitung des Fahrerfeldes zuständig. Die Erstversorgung auf der Strecke erfolgt mit Motorradteams und einem Rettungswagen-Team, bestehend aus einem Notarzt und einem Notfallsanitäter. So kümmern sie sich um alle medizinischen Probleme, von leichten Schrammen bis hin zu schweren Verletzungen nach schlimmeren Stürzen. Den Münchner Notarzt und Facharzt für Anästhesie reizt an dem Job die Kombination verschiedener Faktoren: „Es ist eine Woche Kontrastprogramm zum ,normalen‘ Leben, gleichzeitig die Verbindung, mit einem kompetenten Team zu arbeiten, und dem Erlebnis, eine Woche Teil der faszinierendsten Radsportveranstaltungen zu sein.“ Außerdem fährt er sehr gerne Motorrad – „hier kann ich beides verbinden.“ Ob er die TOUR Transalp auch mal als Teilnehmer fahren würde? „Mit dem Motorrad immer, mit dem Fahrrad nur fraktioniert…“.

Christian Schellmann

Marshall

Sein Job ist es, alle Teilnehmer unfallfrei ins Ziel zu begleiten. Chris Schellmann gehört seit 2008 als Marshall zur TOUR Transalp Crew. Die Motorrad Marshalls warnen auf der Strecke vor Bau- oder Gefahrenstellen, sichern im Notfall Unfallstellen ab und unterstützen Fahrer, die Hilfe benötigen. Im „echten“ Leben arbeitet der 51-Jährige aus Garmisch-Partenkirchen als Fachkraft für Abwassertechnik. Die Transalpwoche ist für ihn „die ideale Kombi aus Motorrad fahren auf kleinen abgelegenen Nebenstraßen durch die schönsten Gegenden der Alpen und einer sehr verantwortungsvollen Aufgabe.“ Ob er die TOUR Transalp auch mal als Teilnehmer erleben möchte? Chris ist eher Mountainbiker, aber nachdem das Rennen 2020 ausfiel, ist er die geplante Strecke zusammen mit seiner 16-jährigen Tochter mit dem Motorrad nachgefahren.

Daniel Bechtel

Tagestaschen-Team

Um Daniel Bechtel kommt man bei der Transalp nicht herum. Seit acht Jahren und mittlerweile als Leiter unterstützt der Bayer das Tagestaschenteam und ist damit eine der ersten Anlaufstellen für jeden Teilnehmer im Ziel. Wenn der 51-Jährige gerade nicht mit tausend Taschen beladen über die Alpen düst, kümmert er sich entweder um seine drei Kinder, seinen Job beim Landratsamt oder um eines seiner zahlreichen Haupt- und Ehrenämter – die alle eine Gemeinsamkeit haben: Helfen! Sei es im Katastrophenschutz, bei der Medizinausbildung in der Bergrettung oder als Kriseninterventionsberater. Auch bei der Transalp kümmert er sich längst um mehr als nur die Taschen. Da sein Team eine der ersten Anlaufstellen im Ziel ist, fungiert die Crew auch als Infostelle: Wo finde ich was? Massage, Pastaparty, Camp? Außerdem leitet er den kostenlosen Waschservice. „Die Transalp-Wochen sind für mich jedes Jahr neue einmalige Erlebnisse und schöne Erinnerungen fürs Leben, in denen ich jeden Tag bei all den Herausforderungen mein Bestes gebe, damit die Teilnehmer unvergessliche Transalpen erleben können.“

JETZT
ANMELDEN
Neue Anmelde-
und Stornierungs- Bedingungen